Saturday, February 16, 2019

(l-r) Teaneck deputy mayor Elie Y. Katz, mayor Mohammed Hameeduddin and deputy mayor Mark (Mendy) Schwartz.

JLNJ Co-Publisher Mark (Mendy) Schwartz, with his wife, Nomi, and his father, is sworn in by Bergen County Executive James Tedesco, left.

Elie Y. Katz, with his family, is sworn in by Senator Robert Menendez, right. Rep. Josh Gottheimer is on the left.

The mayors of many surrounding towns and multiple dignitaries as well as family and friends of the council were present this past steamy Monday evening for the reorganization meeting and swearing-in ceremony of the Teaneck Town Council, a group lauded for its intercultural 

diversity and shared altruistic purpose toward community building.

Teaneck elects its mayor and two deputy mayors from an internal council vote. The vote for Mohammed Hameeduddin for a non-consecutive third term as mayor was 5-2. Mark (Mendy) Schwartz, who is also The Jewish Link’s co-publisher, and Elie Y. Katz were elected as deputy mayors.

Hameeduddin was sworn in by Hoboken Mayor Ravi Bhalla. Katz was sworn in by U.S. Senator Robert Menendez (D-NJ). Schwartz was sworn in by Bergen County Executive James Tedesco.

New councilmembers Keith Kaplan and Jim Dunleavy joined re-elected councilmembers Elie Katz and Gervonn Romney Rice and those with unexpired terms: Mohammed Hameeduddin, Henry Pruitt and Mark Schwartz.