Thursday, June 20, 2019

Binyamin Katz, Jr. Division Championship MVP.

Championship MVP Chaim Mermelstein with his coach Avi Proctor.

Breakout player David Ratzersdorfer.

Cousin vs cousin at the TABC hockey championship.

Ryan Brandwein, Sr. Division MVP.

The Sr. Division champion Wildcats.

The TABC Jr. Hockey Jr. champion Wildcats.

In the junior division, the Wildcats and Hurricanes squared off for the chance to be crowned champions. The Wildcats came out flying and took a quick 1-0 lead on a goal by Eitan Baron. Just a short time later, Eitan Adler weaved his way through the Hurricanes defense and gave the Wildcats a 2-0 lead. Goalie Howie Rudolph would not give up another goal all game making several nice saves on shots by Shlomo Wenger and Yos Kahn. In the middle of the second period, the Canes cut the lead in half, however Wildcats goalie and championship MVP Binyamin Katz would not yield another goal leading the Cats to a 2-1 victory. Katz made several nice saves late on shots by Jeb Fields, Jacob Schmutter and Ethan Siegel. After the game regular season awards were given out: regular season MVP was Howie Rudolph, Most Improved Player was Benny Friedman, Breakout Player was David Ratzersdorfer and Sportsmanship/Team Player was awarded to Dovid Rothwachs.

The senior division featured the Wildcats and the Hawks. Both these teams played stellar defense with great goaltending all season and this game would be no different.

The first period ended 0-0. Midway through the second, Mathew Finkelstein found himself in the slot and the puck on his stick and he scored bar down off the crossbar to give to Wildcats a 1-0 lead. That score would hold up as Moshe Keiser and Ryan Brandwein played great defense and when they weren’t there goalie and championship MVP Chaim Mermelstein was there to shut the door. The Hawks has great pressure late but Mermelstein would not be beaten by the likes of Judah Greenberger, Shay Fields, Abie Fields and Max Borger. Goalie Jordan Rieder deserved better but it wasn’t meant to be. After the game, regular season awards were given out: regular season MVP was Ryan Brandwein, Most Improved was Dovid Schulhof, Breakout Player was Abie Fields and Sportsmanship/Team player went to Rami Knapp.

Registration for the fall session will start in late May/early June.

We wish the best of luck to the graduating eighth graders and we hope they make their high school teams next year.

By Mo Fuchs